The Netherlands and some maps

  • Print

The Netherlands is the European and Caribean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which consists of the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

The Netherlands is a constitutional monarchy, located in northwestern Europe. It is bordered by the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium (Flanders and a small piece of Wallonia) to the south, and Germany to the east. The current borders were established in 1839. To the Kingdom belong also Aruba and the former Netherlands Antilles.